The day I decided to love my weight

This is definitely one of the aspects of my life I’ve struggled with the most, especially because of the outrageous beauty standards our society has. So let’s get started.

I’m definitely overweight, and I’ve been ever since I can remember, I have a very fun condition called hypothyroidism that makes my thyroid work super slowly; making it hard for me to lose weight, and very easy to put on some extra pounds. It comes with some extra perks such as thin nails, hair loss and being short 😀 However, I was diagnosed when I was around 13 and have been taking my meds religiously every single day.

Despite taking my medication, it’s obviously not a miracle pill, so I had to pair it with a healthy diet and exercise. But let’s be real, and this is the reason why my weight has fluctuated considerably during my life; it’s hard to keep up, and anxiety is a real thing. Basically, I had times when I would be “thin enough”, and some others where people would refer to me as a “ball”.

I’ve been bullied because of my weight, and that obviously did not help me feel better about myself. I even entered a bit of a vicious circle where I’d eat because I was sad and once I ate I’d feel guilty for eating and felt even worse than before. It took me a while, loads of people, and some tears to realise that independently of my weight, I was still the same shy and sometimes out of tact girl with glasses and curly hair. My weight did not determine who I was but rather how I looked.

It was not easy to start loving myself just the way I looked. The fact that I had extremely supportive friends and family, and dated very open-minded people helped me a lot to realise that I was more than the way I looked. The fact that the things I saw as imperfections, some people saw them as beautiful features also helped. But mostly the fact that I started not giving a crap and decided that loving myself would also involve society accepting me for WHO I AM.

So around 2 years ago I decided, that even though my weight didn’t determine my value, I wanted to feel even better about myself and be healthy. I started exercising every single day for over a year until I injured my knee and had to stop exercising for almost another year. One of the wrong assumptions people would make about me at the gym was that because I was overweight I wouldn’t be able to keep up or that I was super unhealthy. However, they were very surprised to see me not only keep up but give more than my best.

I am currently back on my journey of self-discovery, exercising every day and attempting to eat healthier. However, the fact that I’ve gained weight does not make me any less than those who are thin all the time. My self-worth does not depend on the way I look but rather the way I feel about myself.

So yeah, I am overweight, I am healthy and my physical condition is great! I also love my body with every single extra pound or even if I lose some; I am beautiful as a whole and it’s my confidence and self-love what makes people attracted to me. I also have accepted that my condition makes it harder for me to make extreme changes, and because of it, I have learnt to love the processes.

So if you’re in between sizes, already on your ideal weight or overweight, what matters is the way YOU FEEL ABOUT YOURSELF. Don’t let the world bring you down, and if there’s something that makes you sad, make a small change and you’ll see an enormous difference.

EVERY SINGLE CURVE, LINE, DOT OR WHATEVER ON YOUR BODY IS SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL

Leave a comment